“Bloggers”: who they really are?


Just a few days, back. I heard some very familiar phrases in the classroom.From my lecturer, that is.
“Your handwriting tells a lot about you”
This is after about 7 years after i heard it.
[The alchemistic smells of home, Delhi, being a Bosconian ,6:30am sprints rush to me. ]
Graphology, left a deep mark on me. It was quoted somewhere:”It is not your hand that writes, but your mind.” And this the philosophy that fuelled my interest in it:

If this was so, then altering the handwriting suitably should alter the way the person thinks,hence his persona also,right? And if this was right, then anyone could become whoever he wanted to by simply changing the way he writes;instead of growing up the way, nature wants us to.

Whatever that discussion comes to is irrelevant here,but what triggered that thread in my mind is this:

Did you know??

“23,000 new blogs are created every day — that’s about one every three seconds.” People were trying to write.Hard.And all the bloggers I had come to know, were either single,” settled”( the way the society saw it: family,kids, careers bloggers).I decided to research the matter.Google searches did not come up with any proper links.So I created a discussion at Blog catalog about this same point about bloggers and being single produced the following responses within minutes:

1)”I’m happily married with a son. My parents, in-laws and most of my college friends live within 10 miles. I’m not close to being lonely and I still blog 6-7 times a week.”

2)”Um…I’m married with 7 kids. I blog several times a week. Not lonely in the least!.”

May be i was wrong.May be not me but the stats were.Or may be time i spent on it was very little.
May be or just may be i was the one who was lonely, and not them?? Could it be that, it was the child in me crying for attention.Then, for the first time ever, blogging has shed light on the man or the child inside.
So blogging does tell things , does it?
Are you thinking the same?

P.S: More stats here. 

6 responses

  1. I read your post in Blog Catalog and it did make me think. I too am happily married and blogging really is a way to reflect on the everyday things I do and network with others in a similar position/situation. What i write about is not earth shattering or blow your mind away experiences, it is just the day to day happenings in my life. We are in a rural situation and I find it an inexpensive way to keep in touch with people out there who I have known in some cases for many months, some for a year. When I read their blogs I appreciate my home, friends and family and I feel a sense of contentment which in this day and age is a rare thing!

    June 12, 2007 at 12:40 PM

  2. Joe Kulangara

    Funny blog bro. Was wonedering about some of the things you said. I am however, an avid blogger, yet not single or lonely.

    June 12, 2007 at 4:55 PM

  3. Hm. I’m single, but I hardly have time to be lonely; I’ve got a child, my family lives half a mile away, I have a full-time job and I try to squeeze in my own writing, I go to mass four days a week, and I have a lot of really great friends.

    I think people blog for a lot of different reasons. I also think that people start blogs they really don’t have any interest in at an amazing rate, and I’d love to see a statistic on how many blogs were ABANDONED every day or hour or minute. (http://whatswrongaroundus.blogspot.com/2007/04/blogging-about-blogging-about-blogs.html)

    But it’s like anything else in life, isn’t it? On a community baseball team you’ll have a guy who just wants to play baseball, whatever the context; a guy who is really there to make friends or just to avoid being home alone in the evenings; a guy who wants to win more than anything; a guy who used to play semi-pro ball and thinks he has something valuable to offer the others…and on and on. In any context, you’ll find as many motivations as there are individual humans involved.

    June 12, 2007 at 11:10 PM

  4. You are absolutely correct that if you change your handwriting you can change who you are. However, having said that, I strongly recommend not changing it on your own. You write the way you do for a reason, and if you start messing about with things without knowing why, it can cause all sorts of problems. As a court-qualified handwriting expert, I know whereof I speak.

    There are some excellent programs to help you change your handwriting and effect changes in your personality, such as becoming better organized or more relaxed, or more outgoing, or developing self-control. These are done through handwriting exercise movements done to music, not changing the letters themselves.

    Your handwriting does indeed tell a lot about you. We refer to it as “brainwriting.”

    June 13, 2007 at 12:53 AM

  5. fibinse

    @joe: whats so funny bout it? Dont u feel like getin back to the blog…when ur mind doesnt some place to wander to??……..
    btw nt single…..means???
    @Shiela: thnx for the info.
    @Tiffany: I dunno. I hv quick fixed a lotta times.About the number of people abandoning blogs: Its at your blog.

    June 13, 2007 at 11:34 AM

  6. Joe Kulangara

    I was just pulling your leg bro. I love blogging. There is a nice endearing quality to it that I enjoy.

    June 13, 2007 at 1:34 PM

Leave a Reply

