Parikrama(’91 )


121.jpg

“Eda ‘but it rained’ kettutundo?” (thats in Malayalam.It translates to “Da have you heard ‘But it rained’?)

I was lying on my chair my legs outstretched,eyes  tightly shut and mouth half open.Arms limp beside me.Seeing my condtion he starts typing something on the idiot box on my table.My eyes were still shut.But something didnt seem right!

If butter had rained, why was their so much silence around me?Wasnt anybody panicking or were they waiting for Superman to deliver his promise?

Why was this guy still standing over my PC,and disturbing my beauty sleep?

Irritated I open my eyes ,my pupils try to adjust the surroundings.

“Man,what the fuck are you trying to do??”

Before I could say something more,he swiftly adjusts the sound control.And then:

“Wrapped in a polythene tucked away safe in my mind
A little goodbye maybe or just a passing smile
The birds fly away to the southern sky searching a home
A bunch of paper flowers or a little boy left all alone

Can somebody hear me I’m screaming from so far away
Morning who will calm you now, the evening is eclipsed again

Well does life get any better
More yesterday than today
How I thought the sun would shine tomorrow
But it rained . . .

They justified the cause for which Daddy might give up his life
It’s been so long, so long a time, still I miss Daddy at night
The ache is long gone but the “never” keeps staring along
The waters in the seas are high
and all the sand castles have drowned

Well does life get any better
More yesterday than today
How I thought the sun would shine tomorrow
But it rained . . .”

pfrkid1.jpg 

That was the first time I had heard a song by Parikrama.I had heard about this band before.The fact it was Indian,made me proud.That wasn’t enough to make me go check it out for myself.I did become an addict to that song.But after going through Superhero(another single) felt that anymore digging into the band would be in vain.It was funny, how in a matter of minutes the band first rose in priority and soon crashed out of sight.What a paradigm shift!!

Aftermath: 

I havnt tried out anything of theirs since.

 I have forgiven him for waking me up then.

“But it rained” still remains etched into my memory.Seconds,”Death Cab for Cutie-Ill follow you into the dark” in everything that follows.Everytime I hear it, something urges me to get a guitar and play that song.Play that song and watch the photographic trail of whats-left of Mysore .I miss it all,very badly.I must have some of it,here too.People around me recollect their school-days or their college-life to be the best time of their lives.And i realize that those 2 small months of strange land were my best times.Things we shared weighed much more.A bunch of strangers, with little in common than a name on the back.I thought:

Can life get any better than this?

How I longed for sunshine,

But it rained…

4 responses

  1. So you’d been to Rock Rhythmz at Durgam Cheruvu last saturday?? Damn ! I was put up eith some work ryt at that time! 😦

    True! trainee dayz is something that i’d never forget! More of an extended College lyf! 🙂

    N by the way, You play the Guitar? I ‘ve learnt the basics. Got to build on it now !! 🙂

    March 11, 2008 at 3:56 PM

  2. fibinse

    Man I was free the whole weekend.I didnt know about Rock Rhythms man!! 😦
    Otherwise I would have surely been there!
    Man you reminded me of missing the party @fter Samavesh! And now to add Rock Rhythms ro the list of most missed events!! :((

    March 12, 2008 at 12:22 PM

  3. “How I longed for sunshine,

    But it rained… ”

    Now, that’s too good!

    March 26, 2008 at 4:56 AM

  4. fibinse

    Thanks man.Ahh that reminds me the post is incomplete..

    March 26, 2008 at 5:23 AM

Leave a Reply

