Dread


image010

                                                                 The Corner

 And from the first month of this great new year 2009,  the delicious -scrumptous afternoon chat and tikki are gonna be missed. This was my midday meal.Sharp @ 1.30pm (all weekdays)  a piping hot plate of chat/tikki and freshly chopped onions would patiently  for me at the bus stop- till gluttony caught sight of them, quickened its pace, broke into a run , threw the  school bag on a tree trunk and entered the pearly gates of heaven.Of course, growing up slowed this course of action a bit, but not much. This was repeated everyday for almost 4 years,till I greaduated from school.On birthdays, I could eat as much as I want for free-but I wouldnt.Bliss, it was.No Hyderabadi biriyani or pizza company could ever come close to creating such a masterpiece, that too with re-used vegetable cooking oil.Now he is gone.

“bade bhai (big brother in Hindi) you have made me rich enough, now I got my own shop.Do come over some time”(with a smile made grim under the light of the sodium vapour streetlight)”

I wanted to feel happy for him.But the thought (how ever irrational) that I made him enough money and that he would now be gone – blew hard on my memory of  a-laid back-normal-life which was now trying to balance itself on a unicycle.I pat his back for a good bye.He calls out.I keep walking.Nothin man(Pearl Jam). Raise the volume and walked harder from  corner .

That leaves one last person  from the later part of my childhood.A friend.I wish I hadn’t wasted so many precious years in getting to know her.The reassurance in her voice and ring in the way she said  “hello” could pull me outta the deepest pits of misery.All the anger, all my best accusations.. that had been accumulating with her lack of courtesy or call it unreturned calls would just disappear with a single word of her’s-a  hello.  Love? maybe. Better be weaned away than be torn from. 

We all met at this corner.

Now all what’s left there is me,

Curled up in the corner,

I’m my  own armadillo,

Scared in the corner,

stretching ..pulling myself to grow

in the corner,

Nothing man.

“Burn…burn…
Nothing-man… “

9 responses

  1. Good one bro!
    Wish you luck 🙂

    January 4, 2009 at 11:27 AM

  2. Happy New Year.

    January 4, 2009 at 3:34 PM

    • airborne

      Yeah. You too.

      January 4, 2009 at 4:49 PM

  3. Bro, incredible post! This re-born blog of yours is a must read for me now.

    I miss Francis chetan’s thattu kada in Vazhakulam. Also, James chetan’s tea/cigarette kada in front of the college. I could write paens about the Wills Navy Cut much like your longing for the chaat. But unfortunately, there is no WIlls Navy Cut in the US, and I’ve quit smoking.

    Anyhoo…keep up the good work bro. Loving every bit of it.

    January 4, 2009 at 10:00 PM

    • airborne

      Ladies and gentlemen, this is the greatest comment that this blog ever received, cause it comes from a man I looked upto.Ofcourse Im not alone in doing that!

      @Baphie: Man :D, *phew* thats definitely an ego boost.I will have to get drunk on beer onceawhile now I guess! 😀 I can almost remember getting money from the Federal Bank ATM and paying your bill( :P) at the thattukada near the Vazhakulam bus stand.Man i miss that short town a lot now(I might justquit my job and start one my one, there)!

      January 8, 2009 at 10:02 PM

  4. You know what I miss the most about Vazhakulam? I miss being able to walk around shirtless, clad only in a lungi, and sometimes just my boxers. Aaah freedom! When the balls dangled free and the wind kissed the ass!

    January 10, 2009 at 6:41 AM

  5. airborne

    hey cmon.Shirtless,wind kissing the balls ..u? Dude that sounds gross.

    January 10, 2009 at 12:39 PM

  6. Don’t diss it till you try it bro. Have you ever laid butt naked on the floor of an empty room, with your hands and legs spread out, with a ceiling fan above you rotating at full speed? 🙂

    January 12, 2009 at 6:01 AM

  7. airborne

    nope havn’t.But have lied fully clothed on a cemented floor on a sweltering summer night, and boy thats the best sleep I ever had!

    January 12, 2009 at 10:50 PM

Leave a Reply

