r.i.p.


One of the  floors in the multi-storied individual houses is my abode. It was a windy Saturday and cold came calling the previous night,  so I plugged my ears with the bike helmet the moment I heard the door shut. I stood there scanning the neighboring terrace for signs of my feline friend. Couldn’t stop asking the woman washing her grandchild in the tap water, “Billi kahaan gayi?(Where is the cat?) ”

She put the child down ,took a deep breath and launched herself  into an explanation,”Kya kare babu, padosan bahut darti thi usse! To hamne billi shikariyon ko de di!”

“The girl in the neighboring flat  was scared of the kitten(!), so we gave her to the hunters cos we couldn’t keep her here.”

The pretty girl had been pretty scared. I had seen the drama. The old woman was referring to a  dense set of trees that was put by the builders of the 30 storied buildings as the forest. According to her, there were three kittens at first, dogs got to two, the mother cat could get just one out in time. The cat had been missing since the last few days. Now, this. I know she is lying, but I want to believe her.

The wind blows through those trees like a reaper’s hand through the harvested grains and I can hear their leaves swish against each other. And in between that, a lonely  meow of a kitten longing for a motherly lick and somewhere inside me there is an ache for her well-being.

Perhaps, the one time we played,  I should have lured her into a broken half-bucket with a bowl of warm milk, and old towels for comfort and I could hope to see her again.

R.I.P.

10 responses

  1. The first time I saw this video, I was delighted. Now, it breaks my heart to see it. Your neighbours aren’t human.

    “Perhaps, the one time we played, I should have lured her into a broken half-bucket with a bowl of warm milk, and old towels for comfort and I could hope to see her again.” If only. As always. We learn of our chances only after they’ve gone by.

    June 22, 2010 at 9:27 PM

    • okay lady.Please get over it. You are making me more miserable than I usually am.

      June 24, 2010 at 11:08 AM

  2. Rindo

    Oh.

    The Video.

    Oh.

    June 23, 2010 at 8:30 PM

    • Err. Whaddya mean?

      June 23, 2010 at 10:42 PM

      • Rindo

        This video is a hark back to a life that could’ve been.

        Death is bewildering.

        June 23, 2010 at 10:53 PM

        • Oh kay you needn’t have put that(points at the comment) bluntly.

          June 24, 2010 at 10:59 AM

  3. ……. Oh no.

    June 24, 2010 at 12:29 AM

    • yeah.

      June 24, 2010 at 11:07 AM

  4. Coffee Bean

    I can empathize with this quite a lot. The anguish and helplessness would be the worst punishment I am sure.

    June 25, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    • Totally.

      June 26, 2010 at 5:14 PM

Leave a Reply

